Could not resist this moody addition.

thetompostpile

Get onto the ferry.

Go through ramps, and fence, and rail.

Up on deck, look over the railing.

Look down.

At the water near the ferry, near the dock, moved by currents, and wind.

Look through the darkening air at the water, concrete, steel, and rubber.

The dock is there through heat, cold, wet, dry, light, and dark.

IMG_0232

Further out, there are pilings, waves, reflections.

I have ridden these ferries for over sixty years, from infancy to now.  As a baby I bounced in summer sunlight on the red leatherette seats of the old “Islander”.  Since I have family, friends, and deep connections on both Cape Cod and on the Vineyard, much of my life has been spent going back and forth between Island and Off-Island. Many Vineyarders actually use the terms “Here” and “Away”.

I’ve ridden the boat in just about every mental state there is, from wonder to boredom…

View original post 116 more words

